Plants - Drugs Mind - Spirit Freedom - Law Arts - Culture Library  
Support honest drug info & help us reach a new high for the
number of $5+ donations in a month. Our goal is 1,376.

Donate by Bitcoin
The Five Pillars of Islam
  1. Shahada - A two-part declaration.
    • La'Ilaha Illa 'Llah - There is no god except Allah
    • Muhammadan rasalu 'Llah - Muhammad is the messanger of Allah
  2. Salat - Prayer, performed five times a day, is the direct link a worshipper and God. These five prayers contain verses from the Quran and are said at dawn, noon, mid-afternoon, sunset and nightfall.
    1. Salat-ul-Fajr - Between the first light of dawn and sunrise
    2. Salat-ul-Zuhr - After Midday
    3. Salat-ul-Asr - Mid-afternoon
    4. Salat-ul-Maghrib - Sunset
    5. Salat-ul-Isha - From one and a half hours after sunset
  3. Zakat - Alms-giving or charity. This stems from the belief that all things belong to God. Zakat means 'purification' and 'growth'.
  4. Sawm - Fasting - During the month of Ramadan, Muslims fast from dawn to sunset, abstaining from food, drink, and sexual relations.
  5. Hajj -the annual pilgrimage to Mecca. This is an obligation only for those who are physically and financially able. This includes the following :
    • Putting on Ihram.
    • Going round Al-Kaabah seven times.
    • A fast walk between As-Safa and Al-Marwah.
    • Visiting and staying at Mina, Arafat and Muzdalifah.
    • Throwing pebbles at three fixed points in Mina.
    • Shaving or trimming hair.
    • Sacrificing an animal (camel, cow, goat or sheep).