Erowid
 
 
Plants - Drugs Mind - Spirit Freedom - Law Arts - Culture Library  
Erowid is a Global Information Resource
cover image
The Well of Remembrance
Rediscovering the Earth Wisdom Myths of Northern Europe
Rating :
rating
Author(s) :
Ralph Metzner
Pages :
334
Pub Date :
1994
Edition(s) at Erowid :
---(---)
Publisher :
Shambhala Publications
ISBN :
1570626286
BLURBS #
"The Well of Remembrance is Roots for Eruo-Americans. A long overdue exploration of ancient Germanic-Celtic myths that may help us recover our forgotten ecological wisdom."
-- Sam Keen, author of Fire in the Belly and Hymns to an Unknown God

"This significant and timely work lets us hear the ancestral voices of ancient Europe, offering celebration of life and guidance in the arts of reconciliation."
-- Joanna Macy, author of World as Lover, World as Self

"Ralph Metzner's intimate knowledge of nonordinary states of consciousness, impeccable scholarship, and creative vision provide a fascinating journey through north Eruopean mythology."
-- Stanislav Grof, author of Beyond the Brain, The Adventure of Self-Discovery, and The Holotropic Mind

"Stunning--a sourcebook with immediate application to the most urgent issues of our contemporary world. Metzner's exploration of the roots of the Wetern psyche is in the tradition of Campbell, Eliade, and Jung, but in his penetrating understanding of the industrial impasse, as well as in his focus on the pre-Christian Germanic mythology and its relevance for us today, he goes beyond what anyone before him has yet offered."
-- Brian Swimme, author of The Universe Story

ABOUT THE AUTHOR(S) / EDITOR(S) #
Ralph Metzner, PH.D., is a psychotherapist and a professor of psychology at the California Institute of Integral Studies. One of the pioneers in the study of nonordinary states of consciousness, he has written several books, including Maps of Consciousness, Psychedelic Experience, and Opening to Inner Light