Erowid
 
 
Plants - Drugs Mind - Spirit Freedom - Law Arts - Culture Library  
Recent Reviews
ratingstars
Pharmako/Gnosis
by Dale Pendell
Publisher:
Mercury House 
Year:
2006 
Reviewed by Erik Davis
1/12/2011

By the time the poet, plant alchemist, and sometimes computer programmer Dale Pendell published his mammoth three-volume Pharmako trilogy this last decade, the world had seen at least a century of texts attempting to squeeze spiritual insight and religious correlates out of psychoactive experience. Pendell, however, managed to write a work of erudition and imagination that was not only strikingly original, but also wise. Whipper-snappers would do well to study the content of these great books, along with their form—a patchwork of citations and lore and lyric flights that express the multidimensional quality of psychoactives themselves. [ read more ]

ratingstars
Chemical Cowboys: The DEA's Secret Mission to Hunt Down a Notorious Ecstasy Kingpin
by Lisa Sweetingham
Publisher:
Ballantine Books 
Year:
2009 
Reviewed by Jonathan Taylor
11/3/2010

Chemical Cowboys helps elucidate some of the hidden commodity chain that ends with that serotonin kick flowing through you. Not much here on the production side, and virtually nothing on consumption; the book focuses on distribution. And the distributors described appear, with some exceptions, to be working for amoral and even psychopathological criminals. [ read more ]

ratingstars
The Spirit Molecule (Documentary)
by Mitch Schultz (Director)
Publisher:
Spectral Alchemy 
Year:
2010 
Reviewed by Alyson VonDerlan
10/21/2010

Though The Spirit Molecule struggles to clearly define its overall message, the director is to be applauded for his bravery and persistence in reporting on this controversial topic. For readers of Dr. Strassman’s book, the film brings the characters to life and provides an intimate insight into the deep personal nature of their experiences. [ read more ]

ratingstars
Improved Paintings
by Mati Klarwein
Publisher:
Max Publishing 
Year:
2000 
Reviewed by Jon Hanna
10/7/2010

Characterized simultaneously as a Fantastic Realist, a Surrealist, and a Psychedelic artist, Mati Klarwein’s art is difficult to pigeonhole. [ read more ]

ratingstars
Madness & Art: The Life and Works of Adolf Wolfli
by Walter Morgenthaler
Publisher:
University of Nebraska Press 
Year:
1992 
Reviewed by Jon Hanna
10/7/2010

Adolf Wölfli (1864-1930) produced his prose, poetry, musical compositions, and drawings while living as a patient at the Waldau Sanitarium, near Bern, Switzerland. Walter Morgenthaler, Wölfli’s physician, produced a unique look at Wölfli in Madness & Art; it is one of the first books to focus on the art of a mentally ill person, treating him as an artist of merit, rather than viewing his work solely as a symptom of disease. [ read more ]

ratingstars
Codex Seraphinianus
by Luigi Serafini
Publisher:
Various 
Year:
 
Reviewed by Jon Hanna
10/7/2010

So what’s all the fuss about? The Codex appears to have time-travelled from some future human world or parallel dimension. It is written in an impenetrable “language”, which may well be imaginary and untranslatable. Still, the more one looks at it, the more it seems to have a logical structure; the numbering system, for example, seems internally coherent. Read full text of review in original context…read more ]

ratingstars
Psychedelic Information Theory: Shamanism in the Age of Reason
by James L. Kent
Publisher:
PIT Press 
Year:
2010 
Reviewed by Sheldon Norberg
10/5/2010

In Part I, “Psychedelic Information Theory”, Kent lays out the multidisciplinary neuroscience that informs his Control Interrupt/Non-Linear Destabilization premise. This premise suggests that the primary action of psychedelics (mostly around 5-HT receptors, since that’s where research exists) is to destabilize neural network switching related to serotonergic and cholinergic visual processing, as well as the auditory, olfactory, and tactile senses. Part II, “Shamanism in the Age of Reason” extends the conversation into how tates of “neuroplasticity” are driven, by wave form mechanics, to internal, communal, and universal states of transpersonal consciousness, always with the question of how the information is valued. [ read more ]

ratingstars
The Pharmacology of LSD: A critical review
by Annelie Hintzen & Torsten Passie
Publisher:
Oxford University Press 
Year:
2010 
Reviewed by psypressuk
10/5/2010

A joint publication between The Beckley Foundation Press and the Oxford University Press, The Pharmacology of LSD is the first comprehensive review into the pharmacological effects of LSD and comes at a critical time in the re-emergence of research into psychedelic substances. [ read more ]

ratingstars
Orange Sunshine
by Nicholas Schou
Publisher:
Thomas Dunne Books 
Year:
2010 
Reviewed by Jonathan Taylor
9/1/2010

Orange Sunshine nicely complements other accounts of the cultural history of acid in the 60s such as Storming Heaven and Acid Dreams. Read those for the insightful discussions of the major political shifts and cultural changes of that singular and incredible era, as well as for the equally incredible story of the CIA’s engagement with acid. But read Orange Sunshine for the kicks. [ read more ]

ratingstars
Tryptamine Palace
by James Oroc
Publisher:
Park Street Press 
Year:
2009 
Reviewed by David Arnson
8/28/2010

Once a “devout atheist”, the author’s introduction to 5-MeO-DMT left him searching and researching for answers on how he came to experience such an intense spiritual awakening. He fortunately does not proselytize too much, making it clear that this is his own personal journey. With Tryptamine Palace, Oroc has presented a kind of syllabus or roadmap for not just 5-MeO-DMT, but most “true entheogens”, those substances that generate “the god within”. [ read more ]

<