Erowid
 
 
Plants - Drugs Mind - Spirit Freedom - Law Arts - Culture Library  
Recent Reviews
ratingstars
Controlled Substances
by Alexander Shulgin
Publisher:
Ronin Publishing 
Year:
1988, 1992 
Reviewed by Erowid
8/12/2001

An amazing alphabetical glossary to the legal status of every controlled substance. A great reference for anyone interested in the ins and outs of U.S. drug laws. [ read more ]

ratingstars
This Timeless Moment
by Laura Huxley
Publisher:
Celestial Arts 
Year:
1968, 2000 
Reviewed by Erowid
8/12/2001

If you’re interested in Aldous Huxley, this is a must read. Photos, personal letters and much insight into Aldous and his relationship with both his wife Laura, and the world. [ read more ]

ratingstars
Drugs and Behavior
by Fred Leavitt
Publisher:
Sage Publications 
Year:
1995 
Reviewed by JF
6/24/2001

I can safely say that I liked this text very much and would recommend it to anyone looking for a textbook in psychopharmacology that does not shy away from a balanced, substantive coverage of controversial topics such as entheogens and non-medical drug use in general. [ read more ]

ratingstars
Confessions of an English Opium Eater
by Thomas De Quincey
Publisher:
Wordsworth Classic 
Year:
1994 
Reviewed by JF
6/24/2001

de Quincy might be said to have paved the way for the writings of William James on nitrous oxide, Aldous Huxley on mescaline and even the gonzo journalism of Hunter S. Thompson. But de Quincy has nowhere near the stature of Huxley, either as a writer or as a thinker—for good reason. [ read more ]

ratingstars
Storming Heaven
by Jay Stevens
Publisher:
The Atlantic Monthly Press 
Year:
1987 
Reviewed by JF
6/24/2001

Jay Stevens’ history of LSD in the United States, Storming Heaven, is probably the most visible and well-regarded work on the subject. As such, it is rather unfortunate it is no better than it is. The subject is certainly a colorful one, filled with characters of proportions far more mythical than any others in recent memory. [ read more ]

ratingstars
Trips: How Hallucinogens Work in your Brain
by Cheryl Pellerin
Publisher:
Seven Stories Press 
Year:
1998 
Reviewed by JF
6/24/2001

Despite the introductory tone of the book, Pellerin manages to cover a great deal of the material that makes psychedelics so interesting, even to non-users: Janiger’s LSD therapy for the stars of Hollywood, CIA mind control experiments, the connections between psychedelics and antidepressants, and so on. [ read more ]

ratingstars
True Hallucinations:
by Terence McKenna
Publisher:
Harper Collins 
Year:
1993 
Reviewed by JF
6/24/2001

He makes me want to believe, makes me gleefully toss away my incredulity and ride with him along the Rio Putumayo, high as a kite on fine Columbian Gold. Thanks to McKenna’s able pen, a dumb hippie dope story metamorphoses into a strangely fascinating and compelling tale of a mythical voyage to the heart of the Jungle (oh, the archetypes!) that leads to an eschatological transformation of human consciousness. [ read more ]

ratingstars
Marijuana Law
by Richard Glen Boire
Publisher:
Ronin Publishing 
Year:
1996 
Reviewed by JF
6/24/2001

I’ll be blunt. If you live in the United States and have used ANY drug that our society has seen fit to declare illegal, stop what you’re doing and BUY THIS BOOK NOW. Most U.S. citizens are shamefully unaware of the rights guaranteed to them by the U. S. Constitution and the constitutions of the several states, and the sad ... [ read more ]

ratingstars
Yet Another Beautiful Day in Paradise
by Fred Inthehills
Publisher:
 
Year:
 
Reviewed by JF
6/24/2001

One of my favorite habits is a periodic visit to the local bookstore to look for interesting new secondhand acquisitions in the “drugs” section. On one of these periodic jaunts, I ran across a slim title with a blank spine which I pulled out in curiosity to reveal a most enticing title: Yet Another Beautiful Day In Paradise (YABDIP). ... [ read more ]

ratingstars
Psychedelics Encyclopedia
by Peter Stafford
Publisher:
Ronin Publishing 
Year:
1992 
Reviewed by JF
6/24/2001

The Psychedelics Encyclopedia, by Peter Stafford is an excellent general reference work on the subject. I recommend it strongly as a first purchase for anyone interested in visionary drugs; it should be part of every entheogenic library. [ read more ]

<